Who We Are

The New Brunswick Federation of Labour (NBFL) is the central voice of organized labour in the province. We have a proud history of representing the interest of union members. The NBFL was founded in 1913.

The NBFL is made up of 16 affiliated unions, 282 locals and six District Labour Councils. We represent more than 35,000 working women and men from every sector of the economy and from every community in the province.

The NBFL works to advance workers’ rights and promotes a progressive civil society where no one gets left behind. We advocate for stronger laws and public policies to improve the lives of workers. For example we are working to improve workplace health and safety, an adequate minimum wage and pay equity.

We also fight for strong and accessible public services such as universal health care, education, worker training, elder/home care and child care and early learning.

We stand up for the principles of equality, equity and social justice and we work with our affiliated unions and social justice partners to build a better world for all citizens.

Executive Officers

Show content here

Daniel Légère (UFCW) President
Brian Duplessis (ILA) Secretary - Treasurer
Chris Watson (CUPE) 1st Vice President
Carla Thibodeau (USW) 2nd Vice President
Tasha Salesse (PSAC) Vice-President responsible for Women’s Issues
Conor Kelly (UFCW) Vice-President responsible for Young Workers

Executive Council

Union Vice-Presidents – 5,000 and more members:

Sandy Harding (CUPE)
Stephen Drost (CUPE)
Caroline Gregan (PSAC)
Alain Sirois (PSAC)
Paula Doucet (NBNU)
Maria Richard (NBNU)

Union Vice-Presidents – 800 to 5,000 members:

George Nickerson (CUPW)
Daniel Smith (UFCW)
Vacant (NBFUR)

Union Vice-Presidents – less than 800 members:

George Leaman (BCTGM)
David Craft (ILA)

Labour Councils’ Vice-Presidents:

Shawn Gorman Wetmore – Saint John (CUPE)
Brent McInnis – Fredericton (PSAC)
Lorn Martin – Edmundston (CUPE)
Ryley Hallihan – Miramichi (PSAC)
Melissa Brown – Moncton (CUPE)
Serge Plourde- Bathurst (CUPE)

Canadian Labour Congress:

Danielle Sampson (Atlantic Regional Director)
Serge Landry (Regional Representative)


Committees are an important part of the New Brunswick Federation of Labour’s ongoing work. These committees are composed of workers from our affiliated unions who volunteer their time to do the valuable work that the committees take on.

We currently have the following committees:

Occupational Health, Safety and Environment Committee
George Nickerson
NBFL Vice-President

Political Education Committee
Serge Plourde
NBFL Vice-President

Women’s Committee
Tasha Salesse
NBFL Vice-President

Young Workers Committee
Conor Kelly
NBFL Vice-President

Join the NBFL

To affiliate, please contact our office at:

New Brunswick Federation of Labour
150 Edmonton Ave,
Suite 9
Moncton, New Brunswick
E1C 3B9

Telephone: (506) 857-2125
Fax: (506) 383-1597

Email: info@fednb.ca

Application to Affiliate (PDF)

To learn more about the New Brunswick Federation of Labour and our work, you can read:

The Central Voice of Labour in New Brunswick Affairs (PDF)

Our History

The New Brunswick Federation of Labour (NBFL) was created in 1913 when Mr. James L. Sugrue of Saint John and Mr. Neil Savage of Moncton were elected President and Secretary-Treasurer respectively. At the Convention on January 20th, 1914 the following motion was passed:

“On motion the President and Secretary-Treasurer were empowered to procure a charter from the Trades and Labour Congress of Canada”.

For two years, semi-annual meetings were held in January and July, and since then regular conventions have been held.

The NBFL is composed of unionized workers within the Province, having representatives attending its conventions from almost every community in New Brunswick where a Labour Organization exists.

The NBFL is now Labour’s central voice in New Brunswick. The Federation invites workers to join together to ensure a fair workplace by bargaining collectively their:

  • wages and benefits
  • pensions
  • holidays and vacations
  • health and safety rules
  • hours of work, and
  • working conditions

It is the NBFL’s role to build solidarity and mutual support between unions.

For more information about the history of the Federation, see the book Provincial Solidarities: A History of the New Brunswick Federation of Labour (Athabasca University Press, 2013), available in paper and e-book or for free download at:

Provincial Solidarities: A History of the New Brunswick Federation of Labour

Previous Executive Officers

Presidents and Secretary – Treasurers of the NBFL over time:

Year(s) President Secretary-Treasurer
1913 James L. SUGRUE Neil SAVAGE/P. D. AYER
1914–1918  * James L. SUGRUE P. D. AYER
1918–1920 Célime A. MELANSON George R. MELVIN
1921–1928 James E. TIGHE George R. MELVIN
1929–1932 Eugene R. STEEVES George R. MELVIN
1933 James A. WHITEBONE George R. MELVIN
1934 James E. TIGHE George R. MELVIN
1935–1953  ** James A. WHITEBONE George R. MELVIN
1954 James A. WHITEBONE Lee A. SMITH
1955–1958 *** James A. WHITEBONE William F. MCCARLIE
1959 Angus MACLEOD James H. LEONARD
1960–1962 James A. WHITEBONE Yvon LANCTIN
1964–1966 John F. MACMILLAN Valerie BOURGEOIS
1967–1968 Paul LEPAGE Valerie BOURGEOIS
1969–1972 Paul LEPAGE Gregory MURPHY
1973–1979 Paul LEPAGE Alvin G. BLAKELY
1980 Phillip BOOKER Jean THEBEAU
1981 Larry HANLEY J. Albert RICHARDSON
1982–1986 Timothy MCCARTHY J. Albert RICHARDSON
1987–1990 Timothy MCCARTHY Maurice CLAVETTE
1991–1994 John MCEWEN Maurice CLAVETTE
1995–1996 Bob HICKES Maurice CLAVETTE
1997–1998 Tom STEEP Maurice CLAVETTE
1999–2000 Blair DOUCET Maurice CLAVETTE
2001–2004 Blair DOUCET Terry CARTER
2005–2006 Michel BOUDREAU Terry CARTER
2007–2010 Michel BOUDREAU Danny KING
2011–2012 Michel BOUDREAU John GAGNON
2013–2014 Patrick COLFORD John GAGNON
2015-2017 Patrick COLFORD Charles ROUSE
2017-2019 Patrick COLFORD Charles Rouse / Brian DUPLESSIS
2019-2023 Daniel LÉGÈRE Brian DUPLESSIS


* There is no record of the convention in the years 1916 and 1917, yet it is known annual conventions were held, and each of the officers mentioned were returned to office at these conventions.

** No convention was held in 1945 due to Government restrictions on travel because of troop movements returning from the Second World War.

*** Merged Convention of the New Brunswick Federation of Labour and New Brunswick Council of Labour.